top of page
publickoccurences01.jpg

"The man who reads nothing at all is better educated than the man who reads nothing but newspapers." - Thomas Jefferson

  • Writer's pictureTracy's Thoughts

Disagree, But Be Civil To Each Other While Reaching For That Common Ground

Updated: Jan 19, 2019

I am a White Male. I am a Heterosexual. I am a Southerner. I am a Conservative. I am a Christian. I am a Veteran. I am a Gun Owner. Just one of those alone, not to mention all combined, today I would most likely be automatically labeled to be a RACIST by some.


In April 2018 I read the book, "Common Ground: A Turbulent Decade in the Lives of Three American Families". It is about race relations and the tension of the 1960's and the 1970's in Boston, Massachusetts. Being born in Southeast Alabama in 1963 and living most of my life here I saw some of that myself. I grew up hearing others around me saying ugly things about those that were different than me. I'm not trying to make any excuses but that was just the way it was back then. As I grew older I learned other things and hopefully have made more informed decisions that were based on facts and not solely upon what others were telling me in how I should think or act.


When I say I am a Conservative one could guess that I am not a Democrat. And you'd be right. When I say I am a Conservative one could guess that I am a Republican. And you'd be wrong. I consider myself to be a Right-leaning Centrist. I have never fully supported the Democratic Party and have since grown tired of the Republican Party. I believe them both to be corrupt. But I do believe that there are good people on both sides that do indeed share a COMMON GROUND. I have family and friends that have different beliefs. We don't always agree with what the other is saying. But I strive to maintain a respect for them and I hope they do the same for me.


Here lately I've been talking some about the race relations and the tension in Anniston, Alabama. In my previous post, "Don't Let This Be Anniston's Last Epitaph" I state, "This city has certainly seen more than it's fair share of hatred and division over the many decades and it seems that the hatred and division will continue here for many more decades to come. On January 15, 2019, as I attended for the first time, an Anniston City Council meeting, I heard from some of the citizens and members of the council talk of some of the issues that plague this city. The issue of Blacks versus White was mentioned several times even though, at the same time, claims were being made that it shouldn't be "black and white", but about ALL of Anniston.". Many of those citizens that addressed the Council during the Informal Public Comments period came to the defense of the two Black male City Councilmen, Ben Little and David Reddick.


On a January 11, 2019 post on Councilman Reddick's personal Facebook page he was talking about the White female Councilwoman, Millie Harris, "On the subject of Racism and Adolph Hitler". He states that "This kind of stuff happens all the time in Anniston City Council meetings when no blacks show up." It is believed that Councilwoman Harris had, on social media by email or other sources, shared a picture and quote from Adolf Hitler that reads, "Make the lie big, keep it simple, keep saying it." Councilman Reddick took offense to it. Some of his friends and followers on Facebook made these comments on that post, "I think we need young black intelligent young ppl running that council or if we can some honest white ppl that really want change glad you shared this bro." and "Typical caucasian who thinks they are not accountable for their actions. They say and do what they want and then will attempt to lie their way out of it.. so sad". While he was denouncing the comments and acts of those he and Councilman Little accuse of being racist, he did nothing to curtail those same type comments from those on his own page. This is why that hatred and division, which has been around over the decades, will remain for many more to come.


I am reminded of back when I was in about the 5th grade or so. My Teacher had given the class an assignment to write a report about someone famous in history. Of course there were those reports on George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson and so on. The report that I wrote was about Adolf Hitler. My Dad was called to the school for a conference. I was not glorifying or idolizing him, nor was I trying to say that I agreed with him. The assignment was to write a report about someone famous in history and you can surely say that he was certainly famous, although not in a good way. I have often seen quotes from vile and evil people that if you think about them, some really do make sense. Again, you don't have to agree with the person's ideals. Some of those family and friends that have different beliefs than I have even said things that I find interesting.


I think one should have an open mind and at least be willing to listen to others and not just solely think or act based upon what you have been taught in the past. I'm not necessarily saying that you should compromise yourself by accepting standards that are lower than than what you find desirable. But "WE the PEOPLE" do need to stop arguing and attacking each other and spend some more time truly listening and speaking to each other. If we can accomplish that, then we all may benefit and find that COMMON GROUND. That could even happen right here in Anniston, Alabama.


[DISCLAIMER: All comments posted by me are my own thoughts and are not those of my place of employment or any agencies or organizations that I may be affiliated with.]

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Who Should Be Held Responsible?

An Editorial in The Anniston Star caught my attention recently in which they almost gushingly gave thanks to Democratic Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of the 14th District of New York for her

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

DISCLAIMER: All comments posted by me are my own thoughts and are not those of my place of employment or any agencies or organizations that I may be affiliated with.

Tracy's

Thoughts

bottom of page